Donate with PayPal to help keep UKS online!

Go Back   UKScrappers > Forum > Special Forums > Cutting Machines - chat, help. templates > Cutting Machine Chat

Notices

Card Maker and General Craft Enthusiast
    View Gallery

Trader Rating: (0)

? Blade needs sharpening & noises

Hi all

Have only had my CR since Sunday and it has now stopped cutting. It won't even cut right through paper on the thickest setting with blue blade. Also it seems to have started making more noises than it did originally.

Could the blade need sharpening or does it sound faulty to you? I haven't done that much cutting in 2 days to warrant a new blade I wouldn't have thought.

Any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks

View Gallery

It maybe faulty but when I first got mine it played up badly and it nearly went out the window a few time but most of it was down to me. Check the blade is in properly and hasn't broken. I'm not an expert but I really don't think it needs sharpening. Maybe try a thinner piece of card.

Dedicated Scrapper
    View Gallery

Trader Rating: (1)
    Blue blade is for the thinnest card - red blade is for the thickest.
    I'm sure it doesn't need sharpening - sounds as if you haven't got the blade holder in right. It must be inserted with the plastic ridge to the right then given a slight anticlockwise turn and it will fall into place. there is a diagram of this on the lid of the CR.
    I've cut more than 300 boxes with my present blade and it's still going strong - another one I took out and swiped through a pad of aluminium foil when i thought it was getting a little down.
    Susibi

View Gallery

Thanks for your advice. I think the blade in correctly and have tried just cutting paper with the blue blade but it didn't work. Will give it another go later. I must admit I was getting mad with it last night.

Will get some bacofoil today and give that a try when I get home from work today.

Cath

Dedicated Scrapper
    View Gallery

Trader Rating: (43)